The Cod family has 59 varieties and is one of the most important commercial fish in the United States. It is a bottom feeder therefore is listed as a demersal fish, which means it lives towards the bottom of the ocean.

Fisheries sometimes split small fish, under 2 ½ pounds, and market  them under the name of scrod. The Cod is distinguished by 2 fins on the back and 1 barbell on the lower chin. The Atlantic cod lives in a range that extends from Virginia to the arctic regions in deeper, colder areas of the ocean. They can vary in color from green to gray with reddish or brown tints. The Atlantic is the largest type and has been said to reach 200 pounds, however the average size is from 6 to 20 pounds. They tend to live a little longer than the Pacific cod with a lifespan of about 25 years.

The Pacific version, also known as Alaska, gray or true cod varies from brown to gray. They  live in the Pacific from California to Northern Alaska. Alaskan waters contribute more than two thirds of the worlds Pacific cod supply. They swim in very large schools and can range up to 33 pounds. Their lifespan is less than 20 years.

Cooking Cod

Pacific Cod Fillet

Cod- on picture for photo credits

The Pacific cod has a soft, delicate flesh and the Atlantic has a firm flesh. Their taste is very similar. They are mild in flavor and have a dense, layered, white meat that stays moist after cooking. The best way to cook is to bake, broil, steam, poach, oven fry or deep fry.
Click on a link for easy ways of cooking cod.
how to bake fish
steam fish
 poach- fish 
oven fry fish
deep fry- fish
For information on other fish and how to cook them go to
If you need information on shellfish check out